A Brief History of the Club

Clooney/Quin GAA Club is one of the oldest clubs that took part in organised competition under the rules of the GAA as far back as 1888. Clooney down the years have provided Clare with several great players, most notably Amby Power who captained the victorious Clare 1914 All-Ireland winning Team. His brother Joe, and Mick Flanagan were also on the 1914 Team. In Official circles the Club has provided three County Board secretaries, Con Kearney, Paddy Hennessy and Mick Hennessy. In later years, the Late Brendan Vaughan held the office of Chairman of the County Board and also the Munster Council Chairmanship.

The 2006 season will live long in the memory of all associated with the Club. The Intermediate hurling team became Munster Intermediate Club Hurling Champions following their County Championship win, the Camogie team who captured the County Intermediate Title, with the Minor hurlers capturing the Clubs first Minor “A” Championship title. The Club is currently fielding adult hurling teams at Senior, Intermediate and Junior “A” Championship Grade, along with a football team at Intermediate Grade. The Clubs Minor, Camogie, and Handball clubs are very active units within the Community.






The Clare 1914 All-Itreland Winning Team BackRow(L-R)Tom McGrath, John Fox, Bob Doherty, Mick Flanagan, Jim Clancy, Joe Power Seated: (L-R) Jim Guerin, Tom “Fowler” McInerney, “Dodger” Considine, Amby Power, Martin Moloney, Ned Grace, John Shalloo, Jim O’Hehir (Trainer). Front: Left to Right: Brendan Considine, ‘Sham’ Spellisey





Clooney Junior A Champions 1933 Back Row: Matthew Clune, Michael Hennessy, Patrick MacNamara, George Cusack, Patrick (Duckle) O’ Loughlin 2nd Row: Sean Clune (Inset), Jim Lynch, Patrick Considine 3rd Row: Jimmy Power, Michael Power, Thomas Lynch, John Lynch Front Row: P. Hannon, Michael Halloran, Michael Duggan Young Boy Unknown






ntermediate League Winners 1999 Back Row: Tom O’Halloran(Manager); Tony McMahon; Paul O’Neill; Pat Markham; Victor Leyden; Rory O’Connor; Donie O’Sullivan; Conor Harrison; Eoin Gallagher; Enda Hoey; Francis Browne; Kenneth Kilmartin; Tomas Sheehan; Ray O’Halloran; Kevin Keogh; Pat O’Loughlin(Selector); Harry Shally(Selector). Front Row: Fergal Lynch; Kieran Greene; Peter Skehan; Sean Conheady; Padraig Cunningham; Keith Mungovan; Frankie Enright(Captain) Eoin O’Brien; Damien Murphy; Stephen Littleton; Ronan Shally; Noel Harrison; Jim Fawl(Trainer); Declan Ryan



Munster and Clare Intermediate Hurling Champions 2006

Back(L to R) Trevor Lee, Brian Shally,Martin Duggan, Cathal Egan, Fergal Lynch, Padraig Cunningham, Damien O’Halloran, Ronan Gallagher, Eion Gallagher, Patrick Reynolds, Francis Browne, Mark O’Halloran, Aidan Daffy, Cathal Hannon and Michael McNamara.

Middle (L to R) Cillian Duggan, John Earls, Sean Conheady, Donnacha Murphy, Conor Harrisson, Enda Harrisson, Stephen Littleton, Joe O’Loughlin, Peter Skehan, Shane McNamara and Derek Ryan.